Women & Wealth Redefined, Reunited…

By Christine Mathieu, Money Coach-Wealth Intuitive, Author That Money Girl

Ever since I chose to transition from being a traditional financial adviser to becoming a Money Coach-Wealth Intuitive, I have experienced, both personally and professionally, a profound shift in the meaning of “wealth.”

blog1Did you know that the original definition of “wealth,” back in the 13th century, was happiness, joy, and well-being? Wealth was once known as an emotion or a state of being. I find that refreshing and affirming, for there are many individuals who currently define wealth as owning a great amount of physical possessions, luxuries, or cash. I have also found that when one places one’s focus squarely on generating physical wealth, such negative attitudes as judgments, scarcity, and non-fulfillment form.

When I was a traditional financial adviser, I spent the greater part of my day focused on accumulating physical wealth and advising my clients on achieving the same. Was I successful in that endeavor? Most certainly—I generated a healthy income and could easily afford the things I wanted, and then some. But it wasn’t until I lost it all in an abusive marriage and the ensuing divorce and bankruptcy that I began to realize what it truly means to be “wealthy.”

My journey in rediscovering wealth while guiding other women to do the same has allowed me a glimpse into the new Wealth Paradigm. When it comes to managing money, career, and family, women do it from the inside-out. Thoughts, feelings, and actions begin from the heart. Whether you are looking to give or invest your money, time or creativity, alignment with purpose and spiritual fulfillment comes first. Women know that it’s not about what they will receive in return for their generosity because they know that to give IS to receive. Giving and receiving are, in fact, one truth. To give wealth is to be wealth(y).

As a woman today, how would you define “wealth”? For me, I know I am wealthy when I am in alignment, sharing my gifts and knowledge. You see, being “rich” isn’t always quantified by dollars and cents. It’s about generating sustainable dividends by first feeding the soul. As for money and the physical stuff—that’s a happy side-effect!

Christine head shot 2012Christine Mathieu is the Founder & CEO of the Mathieu Center for Financial Wholeness. She is the “Rich Life” columnist for the Buffalo Magazine and author of “From Wisdom to Wealth.” Christine spent 20 years as a traditional Financial Adviser and she believes it’s now her turn to help other women realize their true wealth potential as she has. 

2 thoughts on “Women & Wealth Redefined, Reunited…

  1. Pingback: How do you be truly vulerable with a man while protecting yourself financially? - Wealthy Single Mommy

  2. Hi Wealthy Single Mommy–such a great question! There are ways to protect yourself financially–both financial products & plans as well as legal means. However, I sense that your question goes deeper. I believe that how we feel about money & finances is how we feel about our Self–so with that said, my question to you is, what is is about you that needs protecting? What you are really asking here is how can I truly TRUST this man–Yes? Because to be vulnerable by definition is to be open to criticism, hurt, attack…and in truth we cannot hurt another or be hurt unless we are misaligned, disconnected from our inner-wealth. Another way of looking at vulnerability is to say that you are willing to enter that space and open yourself up to trusting–
    As a former single mom myself, having been hurt & abused on all levels including financially, the question I had to ask myself was–“what am I learn from this experience?” It wasn’t until I explored my past relationships, realizing all of the lessons as gifts, that I was able to begin to trust again. It’s a process…it takes time, inner work, and the willingness to change. 🙂

Leave a Reply

